Sep 18, 2013

Disable Country Specific Domain Redirection in Blogger

Recently, Blogger introduces a Country Specific URL's redirection for all BlogSpot domains. Instead of the domain extension, your readers will see their country specific domain extensions. The redirection currently implemented on India and so far all domains redirecting to

For exmaple: If you are viewing a blog with address from Australia (AU), then you will be redirected to Similary, if you are viewing from India it will be redirected to

This redirection is called "country-code Top Level Domain" (ccTLD). It also knows as "302 Redirect" which is a temporary change and not a 301 redirect which is a permanent change of address.A report says that many countries are affected from this. These countries are

  1. Argentina [] 
  2. Australia [] 
  3. Brazil [] 
  4. Canada [] 
  5. Czech Republic []
  6. France [] 
  7. Germany [] 
  8. Hong Kong []
  9. India [] 
  10. Italy [] 
  11. Japan [] 
  12. Mexico [] 
  13. New Zealand [] 
  14. Portugal [] 
  15. Romania []
  16. Spain [] 
  17. Sweden [] 
  18. UK []
 If you want to prevent this country specific redirection then follow the steps given below.

Step 1

Goto 'Design' from your blogger dashboard.

Step 2

Then select 'Edit HTML'.

Step 3

Find <Head> and paste the code given below right below it.

<script type='text/javascript'> var str= window.location.href.toString(); if ((str.indexOf('.com/'))=='-1') { var str1=str.substring(str.lastIndexOf(".blogspot.")); if (str1.indexOf('/')=='-1') { var str2=str1; } else { var str2=str1.substring(0,str1.indexOf('/')+1); } window.location.href =window.location.href.toString().replace(str2,''); } </script>

That’s it!! Now your blog will not redirect to country specific URL. This may help your SEO too.


Post a Comment

Related Posts with Thumbnails